Kids Ink Children’s Bookstore - 5619 N. Illinois Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208 - Email: kidsink@indy.net   

 Store Hours: Monday-Saturday  10am to 6:00pm, Thursdays until 7:00

Store: 317-255-2598 - Fax: 317-254-0832 - School and Library Division: 317-254-0830

Life of Zarf: The Troll Who Cried Wolf (Paperback)

Life of Zarf: The Troll Who Cried Wolf Cover Image
Email or call for price
Backordered

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Life of Zarf series.

Description


Fractured fairy tales meet modern day middle school in book two of this hilarious series that’s perfect for fans of Shrek, Dork Diaries, and Wimpy Kid.

Even after rescuing the king, Zarf is scum on the bottom rung of the middle school social ladder. After all, he is still a troll. But at least he still has his two best friends, Kevin and Chester . . . until Kevin disappears, that is. It seems a band of wolves are seeking revenge for the constant disgrace they’ve suffered over the years, and Little Red Ridinghood’s kid might be next on their list. Now it’s up to Zarf to crank out a solution from that troll brain of his, and save his best friend before it’s too late. 

Award-winning comic creator Rob Harrell has middle-grade humor mastered. This second book in his Life of Zarf series is packed with even more witty one-liners and clever twists on classic folk and fairytales. It's perfect for fans of Chris Colfer's Land of Stories series.

Praise for Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels:

"Entertainingly goofy. A promising series kickoff full of off-kilter action and humor." —Publishers Weekly

"A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit." —Booklist

About the Author


Rob Harrell writes and draws the long-running daily comic strip Adam@Home, which appears in more than 140 papers worldwide. He also created and drew the internationally syndicated comic strip Big Top until 2007. Rob recently published his first middle grade graphic novel, Monster on the Hill, which Kirkus called a "deliciously cinematic...indie charmer" in a starred review. He lives with his wife in Austin, Texas.

Praise For…


Praise for Life of Zarf: The Troll Who Cried Wolf: 

"Harrell tells the tale Wimpy Kid-style with punch lines, much of the dialogue, and snarky asides...delivered by a cast of deadpan cartoon figures." —Kirkus Reviews

"Gather up all of your preteen boys and booktalk this title immediately!" — School Library Connection

"This zippy illustrated novel merges fairy tales and middle-schoolangst skillfully." —Booklist


Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels
Accolades:

A 2014 BEA Buzz Pannel selection

“Entertainingly goofy. A promising series kickoff full of off-kilter action and humor.” —Publishers Weekly

"A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit... This is a witty twist on ordinary school-day troubles, and Harrell’s turning of familiar fairy-tale tropes on their heads adds to the charm (and a lot to the amusement factor)...this ought to find a sweet spot at the nexus betweenfans of humor and fans of fractured fantasies."—Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147511720
ISBN-10: 0147511720
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: August 23rd, 2016
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Life of Zarf
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.